December 12, 2013

Wasted Money on Wilton Springform Pan

Tip: Use trusted brands and read reviews before buying.

I bought two 6in. (diameter) Wilton springform pan separately at different stores. I have tried using the first Wilton springform pan I bought and the batter leaked on the bottom. It was my first time to use a springform pan and I thought I did something wrong. I called the customer service and the person who I spoke with asked what kind of batter am I using. I told him it was carrot cake and he responded that that certain pan is not supposed to be for liquidy batter. What the?! I was new to baking then but I thought his reason was sooo ridiculous. A few weeks after, I bought some bigger pans of a different brand and they worked perfectly well. No mess at all!

I just bought a second one because I wanted to save time and energy for a 6in high cake. I want to put 2 pans at the same time. I bought the same 6in. Wilton springform pan just because I had it already. I think I was wrong because look at what happened:

Before buying the second pan, I tried to raise the pan in an angle where there is light so I can see if there's going to be a leak when I use it (I read that review somewhere). I saw none. That process was useless. Yes, both of them leaked, again! Instead of smelling the freshly baked cakes, you'll smell something burnt. And the terrible part is, I have to do additional cleaning and it left a stain on my oven floor! Argh!

 
I contacted Wilton via email and Facebook message (because I don't want to publicly announce the problem if we can resolve the issue provately first) but I didn't get any answer. I even sent a follow-up message, but I guess I am just a nobody because they didn't bother answering at all. I sent them the very same photos I am showing you. I am just frustrated with the kind of customer service they have. I use some other Wilton products and it's the first time I experienced this and what support do I get for buying their product? None! I just wanted to share with all the bakers out there because I don't want them to experience the same frustration of not getting an answer from a well-known brand.


 
DISCLOSURE
I was not compensated in any way to do a review of the product/s or service/s mentioned above. Everything was based on my 100% honest opinion.

11 comments :

  1. Ohh...disaster! Maybe you should post your concern to them publicly. Hope that will get their attention.

    ReplyDelete
  2. uh-oh, that was really not good, I hope this post will be read by the concerned people behind the product.

    ReplyDelete
  3. That's bad that they did not take care of your issue. Most businesses would offer a resolution for it but they did not.

    ReplyDelete
  4. i'm so sorry about the wasted money and still turns out that your springform isn't what you expected. btw, just a little information which my spouse shared so that you don't have to worry about those leaks on the bottom of the oven, try putting a cookie sheets underneath to catch those leaks.

    ReplyDelete
  5. ahhh, that is so disappointing they don't know how to respond to customers. I guess, they may have failed to see this aspect that they do not have actually a customer service department to handle such issues, which is not a good thing for their company.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm sorry to hear about your experience with Wilton.

    If that was me, I would have just went back and returned both.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I am a fan of wilton products and I don't have problem so far using their products. I think you did not tight it properly that's why it is leaking. Other thing you can do is try to put wax paper on the button so you did not to butter your pan. I have the same pan you have.You can return in the store and change it new, tell them it is leaking.

    ReplyDelete
  8. That always sucks when the product fails you. I have had the same share of experiences as well. And you're right, always read customers' reviews first. That is a must-do for me now.

    ReplyDelete
  9. that is sad when the items we buy is not what we are expected :-( My hubby always told me "you get what you pay for"

    ReplyDelete
  10. yak. rude customer service. Good thing you find a better pan for your baking need.

    ReplyDelete
  11. It's a great thing that you made a blog about the problem, so that others won't experience the same thing. ^_^

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!