July 9, 2013

You Get The Room You Pay For In This Hotel!

Stowehof Inn:  434 Edson Hill Road, Stowe VT 05672
Rate: One Bed Queen; Bought at $89 thru Hotwire; Available at Groupon for 2 nights at $200
Amenities: Indoor and Outdoor Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Restaurant, Chess, Library
Rating: 3.5/5


We went on a road trip to Vermont without hotel reservations so me and my husband tried to find good deals online. I told him there's one at Groupon for 2 nights but we'll only stay for the night so we can't get it. Then we tried Hotwire with their lowest possible promotion - get one of the 3-star hotels in the area. When we arrived there, it looked familiar, and oh yes, we were able to book the same place they're trying to sell in Groupon! We got lucky, I told my husband.



We arrived at Stowehof Inn after 6PM and the receptionist told my husband there was no available room anymore but one so we took it. My husband was also told how come we were able to purchase it at a very low price, when their rooms are normally $100+. My husband didn't know what to say but "It was from Hotwire". Then we went out for dinner. As soon as we get back, my husband started complaining that it was hot. Then we realized the AC was not working and we were with a 2-year old. MY OH MY, THEY DIDN'T TELL US OUR ROOM DO NOT HAVE AN AIR-CONDITIONING SYSTEM! Sorry for the caps lock, just imagine me screaming. My husband tried to tell the receptionist but was sarcastically told, "Is there no electric fan up there?" or something like that. That is not the best customer service-oriented person I expected from a physically good-looking inn and who claims to have a great hospitality service. It is not right that we get that kind of room even if we were able to get it at a low price. It is not our fault. We tried to contact Hotwire to and they were not able to help us. Oh well, we just have to get through the night and we're totally out! That was the only not-so-good thing that happened though. I just told my husband to forget it.

The Room
According to the book provided in the room, the inn was renovated. Maybe not our room since in the first place, the AC's not working. The wallpapers were old as well as the paint. Some paint on the door's frame were chipping and I thought the lock was hard to manipulate. Good thing the bed sheet and all looked clean. I always bring a lint roller with me and I thought I didn't need it. As you can see, there's a small table where the TV and electric fan was placed. The window in the corner was the only window in the room and the view was the way to the entrance and the parking area. It's not awful, just weird. That door you can see leads to the bathroom. Need to mention that there were hangers in the dresser but there's no ironing board. Maybe because it's not an office area.

The Bathroom
Ample amount of towels were provided. There were shampoos and conditioners as well as lotion. It looks nice in the picture but the toiled and the basin's not updated. I can't sit in the seat, actually. Even if I use sanitizers already. Also, you can't leave your kid along in the bathtub because it was slippery. My daughter slipped and almost hit her head, good thing I held her in my arms. My husband told me to use the towel and place it in the tub so we won't get into any accident. I hope they provide tub mats to avoid untoward incidents. 


Breakfast
The next best free hotel breakfast I've ever had. There's this I think famous restaurant within the inn and I think that's where we were served breakfast. There were four options of the main dish, unlike the usual two. I thought the bacon and pancakes+syrup were homemade, even the eggs tasted different, by that I mean great! There was coffee and Swiss Miss branded hot chocolate and single-served Kellogs cereals for kids.

You dine in a plain white cloth covered round table with up to four chairs with the view of green grass, mountains and the outdoor pool. The people you'll get to be with looks pleasant and even the servers that morning were great! I wonder ho my husband met the night before.

Parking
The parking near the inn is always full so you have to walk like 500 feet to get to the other lot. It rained during our two days in Vermont so you'll have to walk through an unpaved walkway and if you're not careful, you'll get your feet soaked in mud. LOL. I think that's one thing they need to work on.

Amenities
My husband and little one tried the pools. The outdoor pool was okay but there were insects floating and swimming. It's tolerable though. Maybe it's normal because it's outside and there are lots of trees. The indoor pool was not heated. The sauna was too hot. Didn't try all the other amenities mentioned above.

If you want to know what our room number was so you can avoid it, just comment on this post so I can PM you.

Having tried this inn, do you think we'll come back? Well, maybe, but if I am going to recommend this to my friends, I'm going to tell them to at least avoid Room Number... ;)

*Approximate only and rates were available during the July 4th weekend; Other fees and taxes exclusive

DISCLAIMER
I was not compensated in anyway to do a review of the products or services mentioned this post.
Everything was based on my 100% honest opinion.

27 comments :

  1. Looking at the bright side, at least you didn't pay full price. Imagine if you did and you still got the same kind of room and service! I'd probably throw a fit. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Maybe the other rooms are also like your room that also had so many inconvenience.

    ReplyDelete
  3. What? No air-conditioned with a 2 year old in tow? It's not your fault that you got it at lowest price. But they should've treated you with respect and get the fair treatment if they have customers who paid higher price. You just got lucky with Hotwire. But a deal is a deal.

    ReplyDelete
  4. very well said, i like how you elaborate the room rate and the accommodation of the place, indeed very helpful to those who will be looking for a place to stay in, if they get a chance to visit the place.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Jo you should write your honest review for this hotel in Google, Trip Advisor, Yelp, etc. People need to know that there is a chance they will experience the same treatment and scenario like you did. I think providing you a room with no AC and failing to disclose it is unacceptable business practice. If your reservation voucher does not state this, they should have upgraded you or changed your room!

    Glad the other areas of your vacation went well.

    ReplyDelete
  6. What a frustrating experience you had. Some people would try to make money but compromise quality of service. I feel you. I would have been screaming too!

    ReplyDelete
  7. You can adjust the temperature of the sauna right? or you can't?

    ReplyDelete
  8. We also had one bad experience purchasing an accommodation online, so it was a protocol for us to check honest blog reviews of the hotels we would end up booking to.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm glad that you find their free breakfast as the best :) I also consider it kasi when it comes to booking hotels. It's good to know na satisfying ang complimentary meal nila.

    ReplyDelete
  10. That sounds lovely! I was just telling my husband that I wanted to get back up to VT before the snow and I totally want to stay here.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Honest reviews are the best. I appreciate them. You can tell it was a mix bag of good and bad. Maybe you just hit them on a bad night, but with that one room being that way you have to wonder if the other rooms are too.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Oh my God. That sounds like a miserable experience. At least you didn't have to pay full price. That's a silver lining, I guess. =/

    ReplyDelete
  13. Sometimes you just have to throw up your hands and embrace the unexpected. You at least have a story to take away and that counts for something maybe.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Wow. Thanks for letting us know NOT to stay here! Air conditioning is a must have!!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Oh my, what a bad experience. It's really important that you read the reviews first before booking online.

    ReplyDelete
  16. It is always disappointing when the room is not what you expected. I am glad you were able to get a discount.

    ReplyDelete
  17. Oh boy lol! At least you were able to see the pros from this! I'm very hotel picky, but it looks like you had fun regardless!

    ReplyDelete
  18. What a beautiful resort!!! I haven't been up to Stowe in afew years now. One of my favorite places to ski!

    ReplyDelete
  19. It's awesome when you can find a hotel that serves this kind of perks. That's what we always look for.

    ReplyDelete
  20. I am sorry you had to deal with no AC. That would have made me leave and ask for a refund. I get cranky when it's hot.

    I always look at the reviews when booking hotel rooms.

    ReplyDelete
  21. Wow, I wouldn't stay at that establishment again. lol I'm so particular where I lay my head.

    ReplyDelete
  22. I think you would have been so frustrated with what you have faced there. It is always important for hotels to make sure they provide the best service for what they charge from us. The good thing at the end is you did not pay the full charges atleast.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Thanks for the honest and elaborate review. Sounds like a good breakfast though at least.

    ReplyDelete
  24. It sounds like the room was not at all a great experience, however the food at the restaurant was quite pleasing. Mixed... With a family, I am not sure I would go there. Food is important, however we can get it anywhere. The hotel is different: you pay and are not familiar with surrounding ones...

    ReplyDelete
  25. Yikes, those are some not so good things but at least you got to enjoy some of it. Like breakfast, at least that was good! Hopefully it was just that room. I would send feedback to the inn management so they can improve. As well as travel sites like TripAdvisor so others know these possibilities about staying at this inn.

    ReplyDelete
  26. So sorry about your experience, bad rooms - is the one thing that puts me off. I wouldn't consider visiting again. Yes please do share your experience on the rating websites

    ReplyDelete
  27. At least the room rate was great. I've never been to Vermont.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!